GIS for Transportation: Principles, Data and Applications

10.2 Getting to Know a Transportation Organization


This week you’ll take some time to get to know the European Union (EU). The EU was formed after World War II to prevent future wars between any of its member states. The EU currently has 28 members. The European Commission (EC) serves as the executive branch within the EU and is responsible for proposing legislation and carrying out the daily operations of the EU. The EC has 28 commissioners, one from each member nation. Spend some time browsing the content on the EC's Mobility and Transport website.

Strategic Transport Research and Innovation Agenda (STRIA)

The Strategic Transport Research and Innovation Agenda (STRIA) is a key element of the EU's energy union strategy designed to decarbonize Europe, improve energy security, increase efficiency and make Europe more competitive in the global market. STRIA is divided into seven transportation themes:

  1. Electrification
  2. Alternative fuels
  3. Vehicle design & manufacturing
  4. Connected and automated transport
  5. Transport infrastructure
  6. Network and traffic management systems
  7. Smart transport and mobility services

Roadmaps have been developed for each of these areas. Each roadmap is a detailed document which lays out a strategy for advancing innovative solutions in one of the seven themes.

Transport Research and Innovation Monitoring and Information System (TRIMIS)

In the latter half of 2017, the EC implemented the Transport Research and Innovation Monitoring and Information System (TRIMIS) to monitor and report on the roadmaps for each of the 7 transportation themes defined by STRIA. The TRIMIS database has information on almost 500 programs and 6200 projects in transportation. The EU recently published a report titled EU Transport Research & Innovation Status Assessment Report 2017 which is based on data in the TRIMIS database.

Trans-European Transport Network Policy (TEN-T)

The Trans-European Transport Network Policy (TEN-T) was created by the EU to develop and improve the transportation network throughout Europe including roads, rail, waterways (both inland and maritime), ports, airports and rail terminals. TEN-T activities are focused on 9 important transportation corridors which connect the EU member counties. Take some time to learn about TEN-T.

Assignment 10-3 (15 points)

  1. Review the roadmap associated with one of the 7 STRIA themes and briefly describe some of the barriers and priorities it identifies. (4 points)
  2. Take a look at one of the projects in TRIMIS associated with the roadmap you reviewed. Identify the type of information which is available for the project through TRIMIS and provide a summary of the project's purpose, status, and outcomes. (4 points)  
  3. In addition to the 9 strategic transportation corridors, TEN-T includes two "horizontal priorities": The European Rail Traffic Managment System (ERTMS) and the Motorways of the Sea. Briefly describe each of these priorities. (4 points)
  4. Spend some time reviewing the TEN-T public portal and in particular the interactive maps that are available. Use the TEN-T/CEF Projects layer to locate and learn about a project of interest. Provide a brief summary of the project including the mode(s) of transportation it addresses, the technical and geographic scope of the project and the project outcomes. (3 points)