GEOG 588
Planning GIS for Emergency Management

Introduction to GIS in Emergency Management


The Four Stages of Emergency Management

The 4 stages of Emergency Management
The four stages of emergency management.

It is generally agreed upon that there are four key stages to emergency management problems.

  • Planning & Mitigation
  • Preparedness
  • Response
  • Recovery 

You can probably imagine a wide array of possible GIS applications that would make sense for each of these stages of emergency management. Lesson 2 in this class will talk about hazards more generally, and then, in Lessons 3-6, we'll walk you through how GIS can be used in these four stages. In Lessons 7-9, we'll explore scenarios and cover a few case studies to see how GIS has been used in real-world emergency situations.

Here are brief definitions for each stage of emergency management:

Planning & Mitigation: Evaluating the potential types of disasters and developing plans for reducing their probability or their impact on life & resources.

Preparedness: Actions undertaken when mitigation efforts have not prevented or are unable to prevent a disaster from taking place.

Response: Activities that occur in the wake of a disaster that are intended to identify and assist victims and stabilize the overall disaster situation.

Recovery: Actions following a disaster that aim to restore human and environmental systems back to normal.